~Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han~

★★★/★★★★★

Two boys and a girl. A fun YA romance.

Summary:15749186

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

So when I picked up this book, I expected it to be about high school drama and the scandal surrounding these letters. I was wrong. It’s about boys, some family stuff and stupid all over the place decisions.
But I still found it a quick, fun and light read.

The plot of this book is still not clear to me. When I was reading it I had no idea where it was going and after reading it I had no idea how we ended up where we did.
Lara Jean makes stupid decisions without any, ANY reason to do so. Like spontaneous stupidity out of freaking nowhere. It was frustrating.
I also wasn’t sure who the romantic interests were and what was supposed to be cute and real and what not. And I wasn’t really rooting for anyone. It’s really hard when you have to choose between the “ex boyfriend of the sister” and the “douche who still puts his ex first”. And then there is a case of pretty much insta-love at the end of the story(?).
Apart from that is was an easy read with a fast pace and some funny parts. I really enjoyed it! Really! I had a lot of fun reading it, but in the end I had a few problems with it.

Lara Jean was a fun character. She has a strong voice and loves her family. It’s just that her decisions were so, so frustrating. And she acted very childish; she cried over everything, she had a very immature view of the world and even her (way) younger sister had to kick her but to get her stuff together.
Josh was a character I enjoyed, but his way of telling Lara Jean how she should act and feel and just be was very annoying to me.
Peter just annoyed me and annoyed me and annoyed me even more. The way he was still all about his ex and expected Lara Jean to get it like it’s nothing. He wants the relationship to be fake to get back at his ex, real so he won’t be alone and then fake so he can just get back with his ex.
Kitty was pretty much the best thing about this book. I loved her sassy pants approach to life and she was the most mature character in this book.

So yeah, this is not a fave. It was a save YA romance, but not even good in that way. The plot idea is quite original. But I still enjoyed it as a easy, reading slump YA contemporary.

So I still find this a light, fun YA romance and a great book to read in a reading slump even though I have quite a few problems with it.

Leave a Reply

