The Readers Confession Tag

BeFunkyPhoto3

I came across this tag ages ago and I love the idea! I’m sure I have some confessions too.

This tag is all about the things that us readers aren’t always happy to brag about. Or we might be who knows?
Let’s get started!

1. Have you ever damaged your own book?

Uhm.. Yes. A lot of times. That’s what happens when you read it (or when I read it). Especially because I take some books to school with me every day. I did learn to wrap them in a plastic bag before putting them in my bag (I take my bike to school and it happens to rain a lot in the Netherlands) the hard way.
In the beginning I was obsessed with keeping my books save, but right now I’ve accepted that books will get damaged and I just give in to it.

2. Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?

I don’t think so.. I mean, I don’t really borrow books, like ever. Borrowing books means deadlines and I’m not good with deadlines. Being pressured to read makes me not want to read at all.

3. How long does it take you to read a book?

At this moment, a long time. I’m in a reading slump and I don’t read a lot and keep putting more books down than I finish. I used to get through books pretty fast though. Right now, if I’m really into a book, it might take me a week or two to finish it. That is just because I only read an hour or two a day.

4. Books that you haven’t finished?

Like I mentioned before, there are currently a lot of books that I haven’t finished. Only a few of those I’m sure I won’t pick up again. But most of them I hope to pick back up when I feel more like reading them. A lot of those are big and/or slow books with a lot of worldbuilding or intricate story lines.

5. Hyped/popular books that you don’t like?

Ehmm… This has to be The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. A whole, whole lot of people love this book and think it’s phenomenal. I don’t. I struggled my way to the half way point and I was still incredibly confused and not interested and I put it down. I don’t think I will ever pick it up again (I have given it three tries).

6. Is there a book that you wouldn’t tell anyone you were reading?

I don’t think so??? I don’t read any smutty or erotic fiction and I can’t think of another reason for not telling anyone you were reading a book..

7. How many books do you own?

The last time I counted them (a few months back) there were a little over 125 books. Right now I think I have over 150 physical books and quite a few ebooks (maybe 30 to 50).

8. Are you a fast reader or a slow reader?

I’m a fast reader when I am able to get myself to focus on a book. When I am able to get distracted, I look up every few minutes and end up reading the same page or even sentence about 10 times before moving on.
Fun fact; I am a faster reader on my eReader, because I’m able to find the last sentence I read a lot faster and I can choose an easier to read font.

9. Do you like to buddy read?

Like I said before, I’m not good with deadlines. And that’s what you get with buddy reads. But I do enjoy them occasionally. It gets me a bit more motivated, I guess. I do really, really enjoy readalongs and once in a while readathons.

10. Do you read better in your head or out loud?

In my head, hands down. Especially because English isn’t my native language. I am just about fluent in it and I can read anything without any trouble, but when I have to read out loud, I get too worried about my pronunciations and I overdo it. (I am perfectly able to speak English when I’m just coming up with it in the moment, but when I have to read something or repeat something I just freak out.)

11. If you were only allowed to own one book, what would it be and why?

The Curious Incident  of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon. It’s my all time favorite book and the most important book in the world to me.


So that was the Readers Confession Tag! I had a lot of fun doing this!

Do any of you agree with some of my answers? What are your confessions as a reader?
Let me know!

Leave a Reply

