~Review: Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone by J. K. Rowling~

★★★★★/★★★★★

Chocolate frogs, flying brooms, talking paintings and a chosen one.
The perfect setting.
This is a magical world I wish I discovered sooner.

Summary:IMG_20150803_202517 (2)

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. (Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games.) Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is
changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard! The first book in the “Harry Potter” series makes the perfect introduction to the world of Hogwarts.

I honestly didn’t know what to expect, but also expected a lot. This book is the foundation of the childhoods of many of my book loving friends. This was scary to me, because what if I was that one person that DID NOT LIKE HARRY POTTER? Maybe that’s why I didn’t pick it up any sooner. And I was wrong. Because I loved it.

You get sucked into the story right from the first page. It made me feel like when my middle school teacher read to us and you just kept wanting to know what would happen in the next sentence.
The amount of information that is given is very well divided over the length of the book. You slowly learn more and more about the Wizarding World, together with Harry, who knows just as much (or little) as you do.
But the story never slows down, there is always something going on. Even if it isn’t a big plot point. I especially loved those cozy, laid-back scenes.
The story is very gripping all the way to the end. The ending is very satisfying and leaves you with a “ahh, that’s nice”.

All of Rowlings characters are perfectly flawed. I don’t think I have ever read a book with such a well developed cast of characters. Every character has a distinct voice and story.
Harry is the best hero I’ve ever read about. He has all the good qualities in his personality that every person wishes they had and he has all the flaws that every person recognizes in them self. He is kind, forgiving, non-judgmental, brave, loyal and just so, so kind. And he is impulsive, a little too curious at times.
Hermione is me and me and just so me. She is smart, a great listener, calm, feels strongly about justice, but would still do everything for her friends.
Ron is pretty much my favorite character. He is just such a good friend. He is scared of so much, but is willing to go through so much more just to be there for his friends. I also love how he took Harry under his wing and showed him the ways of magic. He is the perfect friend, a friend we all need at times.

All in all, I absolutely love this book and I wish I grew up with this series. The book hooked me immediately and didn’t let me go until the very last page. I can’t wait to see what this story and it’s characters brings in the next books.
Just a solid first book in a new world that everyone should read.

 

Leave a Reply

