~Review: The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy by Sam Maggs~

★★★★☆/★★★★★

I’m the Doctor, not a companion; Buffy, not Bella; nobody’s sidekick, love interest, or token female. I’m driving this ship. I’m a fangirl, a feminist, and a force to be reckoned with.
The perfect book for any geek, fangirl and feminist.

image

Summary:

Fanfic, cosplay, cons, books, memes, podcasts, vlogs, OTPs and RPGs and MMOs and more—it’s never been a better time to be a girl geek. The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy is the ultimate handbook for ladies living the nerdy life, a fun and feminist take on the often male-dominated world of geekdom. With delightful illustrations and an unabashed love for all the in(ternet)s and outs of geek culture, this book is packed with tips, playthroughs, and cheat codes, including:

• How to make nerdy friends
• How to rock awesome cosplay
• How to write fanfic with feels
• How to defeat Internet trolls
• How to attend your first con

And more! Plus, insightful interviews with fangirl faves, like Jane Espenson, Erin Morgenstern, Kate Beaton, Ashley Eckstein, Laura Vandervoort, Beth Revis, Kate Leth, and many others.

The moment I heard about this book coming out I just had to have it. Especially after seeing the trailer. And as soon as it was available I ordered it.

I love the amount of work and detail that is put into the book as an item itself. The dust jacket is beautiful, but when you take it of it looks mind blowing. It’s yellow with a blue spine and it’s covered in fandom related fandom pictographs. The book has full color pages with a kind of comic book art style.

The book contains articles about and for fandoms and interviews with strong female figures in today’s online world.

The book covers a big range of fandom related topics. Some might apply to you, may not. But even though I’m not involved with cosplay at all, I still found the articles rather interesting.
The articles are written in a very modern style. A lot of internet language is used and it feels like you’re reading an online blog post. I felt like this made it very relate able for today’s fangirl. Because all of the things were written in a such accurate and relate able feeling way, I felt extremely connected to all my other fellow fangirls out there.

The interviews were also very interesting. I found it very entertaining to read and it was a fun and refreshing switch from all the information. And even though I didn’t know a lot of the names, I found it really fun to read and I was curious about them so I looked them up. This was the same with the topics I wasn’t familiar with. I was interested in finding out more and looked it up. It was a great way to get involved with more fandoms on the internet.

Feminism is also a big role in this book. I found this very empowering and it made me think about this very important topic. But the problem I had with it was that it made it feel anti-male and “all guys think girls can’t game or read comic books and stuff.” Which isn’t a big problem if you are aiming for only female readers, but in the beginning of the book it is said that this book “totally isn’t only for fangirls but also for fanboys”. And I think it could be put a bit more friendly and sensitive.

All in all I think this is one of the most interesting, accurate, well made and exciting books I’ve ever read. I only think it feels kind of anti-male instead of just feminist.
I absolutely loved it and I would recommend it to all fangirls out there!
A 4,5 out of 5 stars for me.

Leave a Reply

