~Review: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell~

★★★★★ ★★

After reading and absolutely loving Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl I just had to get Eleanor & Park.IMG_20150126_191859

Summary:

Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is thestory of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

I went into this book not knowing what to expect. Fangirl had blown my mind and I was wondering if it was even possible for this book to be close to as good as Fangirl.
I can tell you now that I loved Eleanor & Park just as much, if not more than Fangirl. Rainbow Rowell has a way of writing that hits you right in the feels.

The plot in Eleanor & Park is really well done. The story keeps flowing at the same speed. This and the short chapters made this book a very quick and easy read.
The thing I loved the most about the book is how well developed the relationship between Eleanor and Park is. The relationship starts from nothing and develops into something more in a slow but steady and extremely real way.
All the characters Rainbow Rowell creates feel like real people. Eleanor and Park were both far from perfect and that made them even more realistic.

I also loved that family played an important role in this book ( a thing many authors seem to forget these days) I fell in love with every single character in the book even if they only played a small role. The only thing that bothered me a bit was the way Eleanor kept pushing Park away and how hard she was on herself. But in the end this made her even more real to me.

I really adored this book and all the cute (oh so cute) moments. The easy writing made this the perfect book to get me out of my reading slump and I know I just need to re-read this soon.
I rate this book a 7,5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

